Joomla 3.1 Templates by FatCow Coupon

African Union



Agenda Items: 1. Reducing Violence in Region with a focus on Horn of Africa

2. Preventing the Recruitment of Child Soldiers in Paramilitary Groups

African Union (AU) is a continental inter-governmental organisation that was established to succeed the Organisation of African Unity (OAU) in 26 May 2001. The main objectives of the organisation are “To achieve greater unity and solidarity betwen the African countries and Africans, defend the sovereignty, territorial integrity and independence of its member states and promote peace, security, and stability on the continent.”

At present the organisation consists of 55 member states that resides in Africa. Since 2017 with Morocco’s admission, all of the countries that currently in the African continent is a member. The AU is the largest of the current continental organisations both population and area-wise.


Under Secretary-General: Ege Sürek – This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

Committee Directors: TBA 

Hits: 1637